With spring in full swing and summer nearly upon us, it’s time for all the other rites of a good ol’ Georgia spring/summer season to commence. Activities such as afternoon cookouts, lazy days at the lake, tailgating, and pool parties are all great opportunities to get together with friends and family while enjoying plenty of food and drink – and in some instances, alcohol. Which means that if you’re driving, you need to drink responsibly.

According to the CDC, every day, 28 people in the United States die in motor vehicle crashes that involve an alcohol-impaired driver. This amounts to one death every 53 minutes. The annual cost of alcohol-related crashes totals more than $44 billion. In addition, the CDC also states that in 2014, over 1.1 million drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics (DUI). That’s one percent of the 121 million self-reported episodes of alcohol-impaired driving among U.S. adults each year.

Needless to say, DUIs are a problem for all parties involved, but it doesn’t have to be for you, specifically, if you choose to drink responsibly. You should never try to drive if you’ve been drinking. Even if you think you’re sober enough to drive, don’t, because your very own judgment is one of the first things affected by alcohol – even as little as just one drink.

Nationally, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level is 0.08%, meaning that you can and will be arrested for DUI if your BAC is higher than 0.08%, even if you can drive safely. In other words, the only proof needed for a law enforcement officer to arrest you for DUI is a BAC of 0.08% or higher. In addition, in the state of Georgia, there are three different legal limits for BAC levels. They are as follows:

  • If driver is younger than 21 years of age, the legal limit is 0.02%
  • If operating a commercial vehicle, the legal limit is 0.04%
  • If driver is 21 years of age or older and operating a standard passenger vehicle, the legal limit is 0.08%

Because Georgia is an implied consent state, it means that your signature on your driver’s license is your consent to submit to sobriety tests. Refusal to submit to one results in an automatic one-year suspension of your driver’s license. If arrested, one of the first calls you’re going to want to make is to a licensed bonding company, or “bail bondsman,” as you may have heard them called in the past.

The right bonding agent is helpful, knowledgeable, and attentive to the needs of the defendant and their family. Because an arrest is such a jarring experience, the best bonding agents will work with the defendant and their loved ones to explain the entire process, answering questions throughout in order to help them to make smart, well-informed decisions.

Of course, nobody ever plans to find themselves in such a difficult situation, but it’s good to know that the kind help of a licensed bonding agent is only one call away, if needed.